Profile pic.png

Dr Val Lowing
Clinical Psychologist

Key info about Val

Qualifications: Psychology Bsc, Certificate in Cultures, Religions and Arts, Mental Health Studies MSc, Postgraduate Certificate in Low Intensity Cognitive Behavioural Interventions, Doctorate in Clinical Psychology

Therapy used: Cognitive Behavioural Therapy, Compassion Focused Therapy, Acceptance and Commitment Therapy, Narrative Therapy, Accelerated Trauma Therapy, Systemic Therapy, Identity Focused Intervention

Ages worked with: 18+

Clinics at: Online

Health insurance coverage: Aviva, AXA, BUPA, Cigna, Vitality, WPA and other providers

Accreditation: Health and Care Professions Council (HCPC), British Psychological Society (BPS)

Languages: English, Portuguese

Hi! I'm Val and I'm a Clinical Psychologist.

Background

I work in mental health, acquired brain injury and neurorehabilitation with children, young people and adults.

 

I am an experienced Clinical Psychologist passionate about enhancing people’s quality of life and strongly committed to improving people’s mental wellbeing. I have over 10 years of experience in the field of Psychology working for the NHS, charities and privately.

 

I have completed various university degrees in the field of Psychology and a series of specialist training including the areas of severe adult mental health, perinatal mental health and paediatric neuropsychology. I value working with adults, children and families presenting with a range of psychological difficulties; and being from different backgrounds, faiths and ethnicity.

 

How I can help

It is not always easy to start therapy; it is my first priority to make this process easier for you. I offer a collaborative, safe and confidential space to discuss your difficulties, help you to gain understand of your problems and support you to make helpful changes.

As a Clinical Psychologist, I focus on a person-centred approach and chose to work holistically and integrative across many therapeutic approaches. My aim is to tailor the psychological support offered to people, according to their needs, goals and life values.  

​Me outside of work

 Spending time with those I love is my priority. I was born in Brazil and raised in a multicultural family - Portuguese father and an Italian mother. I moved to London in early adulthood and I love learning about and experiencing new cultures though travel, events, food and music. I am trying to learn how to play the piano, watch this space…